Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
The Perfect Touch
5 mars 2008

Tunisian accessories...by F.

I have been meaning to write a post about my holidays vacation in Tunisia for over 2 months now but being the queen of procrastination, it took me forever. My parents have been living in Tunis for the past 5 years and as a jewelry and scarves lover, Tunisia truly is the vault of Ali Baba. From Hammamet to Monastir, from Nabeul to Tabarka, you can't help but fall in love with the country's aesthetic. So much so that the dire aesthetic is even present in their souks (marketplace).

To me, going to the souk is like a scavenger hunt; I absolutely love looking around taking my time to stumble across sequined shawls, African beads, embroidered flats, berber jewelry, leather purses or bedouin scarves. Of course, we can't forget the keffieh (scarf or headdress) which has been present on runways and fashion cities for a few seasons now. The fashion accessory was initially worn years and years ago by the Bedouin to protect their faces from the hot sun (now worn by communities all around the Arab peninsula) and was later worn by Palestinians as a symbol of their political struggle.

I always bring back accessories from my trips as memorabilia; to me, they are as important as pictures and are instrumentals to my sense of style.

Here are pictures of some of the accessories I collected over the past 5 years from my trips there:

a1 

The 2 bangles in the middle are made from camel bones. Dangling from the bangles, one of my favorite necklaces. Mainly for its simplicity and most importantly, the medallion is the continent of Africa with a few cities inscribed. 2 of my faves, Dakar and Abidjan are included. Unfortunately, Lomé (where I am from) is not represented.

   a2

A couple of scarves and my hobo leather bag...Tunisian style...great for a hobo chic look!

a3

  a4
This gold necklace reminds me of Indian jewelry.
I love it but don't get to wear it often (I got it from my last trip).

So there you have it...I didn't get a chance to add more pics but I will try to do a part 2 in the near future and this time around, I will include pics of the souk.

Publicité
Commentaires
Y
J'aime bcp tes scarves ..funky!!
A
So when can we come shop at ur place?
M
I like the scarves and the golden necklace!
Publicité
Derniers commentaires
Archives
The Perfect Touch
Publicité